Drown In It by Zak Smith


By (author): Zak Smith

Title: Drown In It

Subtitle: Collected works 2004-2024


A major retrospective on the art of Zak Smith, spanning his entire career from emerging in the 2004 Whitney Biennial to his paintings documenting the lives of fellow sex workers in Los Angeles alongside essays from critics Anuradha Vikram, Ana Finel Honigman, and Eileen Townsend. The monograph will document the entire range of the artist's career including portraits, abstractions, and many more never-before-published paintings and drawings.

Smith came to prominence with his mammoth work Pictures Showing What Happens on Each Page of Thomas Pynchon's Novel Gravity's Rainbow. Smith's works are held in major public and private collections worldwide, including the Museum of Modern Art, the Saatchi Collection, and the Whitney Museum of American Art. His previous books include Pictures of Girls and We Did Porn— a book including drawings and stories about his experiences working in the adult film industry. He lives and works in Los Angeles.

*Mock-ups of the book may include draft material.

ISBN: 978-87-7620-289-7

Book language: English

Publishing house: Snap Collective

Website: www.snap-collective.com

Editorial Assistant: Nicoleta Vasilache

Designer: Marss Mickeviča

Published on: 7/03/2024

Category: Art

Price (€): 89

Keywords: Zak Smith, art, painting, drawing, portraits, abstractions, Los Angeles 

You may also like these books

Recently viewed